MTA Soccer Staff

Mark YueillBoys Director

MTA Boys Director
ECNL Coach

  • USSF B License
  • USSF Director of Coaching License
  • Coaching at MTA since 2009
  • 9 years USSDA coach
  • 36+ Years Club Coach
  • 15 Years High School Coach (6 The Breck School, 4 SPA, 5 Jefferson)
  • ECNL National Runners-up 2012 (Champions Flight)
  • 8 Time Minnesota State Cup Champions
  • 2016 Regional Semi-Finalist
  • Has coached:
    • Over 200+ Division 1 Collegiate Players
    • 2 HS All-Americans
    • 8 US Youth National Team Players
    • 4 Professional Players
  • Playing history:
    • 4 Years for University of MN Gophers (Club),
    • 2 Years St Paul Blackhawks
    • 14 Years St Paul Cougars
    • 1 Year MN Men’s Select Team
    • 1 Year MN Strikers Reserve
    • MVP Thunder Bay Invitational Tournament
Matt VanBenschotenBoys Juniors Director

MTA Juniors Director
Juniors Coach
ECNL Coach
ThunderBolts Director

  • Coaching at MTA since 2022
  • Coaching full time since 2010
  • Former Head Coach, Minneapolis City (USL2)
  • 3x NPSL North Conference Championships
  • 2021 Conference Coach of the Year
  • NSCAA Director of Coaching Certificate
  • NSCAA GK Level 1,2,3 Certificate
  • JV Coach / Asst Varsity Coach, Wayzata HS
  • former Mens Asst Coach, Bethel University
  • former U10-U13 Boy Director, Fusion SC
  • Playing history: 2 yr captain, all-academic conference at Bethel University
  • Masters degree, Marriage & Family Therapy
Danny StorlienGirls Director

MTA Girls Director
ECNL Coach

  • Danny Storlien has been an important part of MTA for 25+ years
  • USSF A License, USSF Youth license, NSCAA Premier license and KNVB Dutch Coaching Certificate.
  • Masters in Education and in Athletic Administration
  • Teacher & HS boys' soccer coach at Bloomington Jefferson since 1996
  • Former Professional Men's Asst Coach, Minnesota Thunder
  • Former Semi-Professional Women's Coach, Minnesota Lightning
  • Former Region II ODP Staff Coach
  • 5x Minnesota Boys AA Coach of the Year
  • NSCAA Midwest Coach of the Year
  • W League Midwest Coach of the Year
  • Has coached:
    • 34 Current Division I Players
    • 377 Players Who Played Collegiate Soccer
    • 11 Youth National Team players
    • 18 Ms Soccer Minnesota & 4 Mr Soccer Award MN Recipients
    • 18 Gatorade Players of the Year
    • 16 NSCAA or USC HS All Americans
    • 15X State Cup Champions
    • 2X Region II Champions
    • 2X USYSA National Runner Up
  • Former Athletic Director, Jefferson High School
  • 6 time ECNL Champions League Qualifier
  • ECNL Midwest Division Champions
  • Head Coach Gothia Puma Trophy Elite U17 Champions
  • Played D1 college soccer at UW-Green Bay and DIII at St Mary's
  • Played high school soccer at Park Cottage Grove - inducted into Park Cottage Grove HS Hall of Fame
  • Caption of both college and high school teams.
Terry LeiendeckerGoalkeeping Director

MTA Goalkeeper Coach - Boys & Girls

  • Former professional Goalkeeper for MN Strikers.
  • Former GK Coach for MN Thunder professional team.
  • Played for Team USA at the World University Games in Japan
  • 4 year starter & captain at St John's University
  • McDonald's NSCAA All-American
  • Holds NSCAA & MIAC goalkeeping records
  • 15 yr Boys HS Varsity Coach
  • USSF B License
  • NSCAA GK (Levels I, II & III)
Sophie HornAsst Juniors Director

MTA Assistant Juniors Director
Juniors Coach
NPL Coach
ThunderBolts trainer
ThunderFoot trainer

  • Coaching at MTA since 2021
  • Former MTA Player
  • USSF D License
  • University of MN-Duluth DII player
  • Coerver Coach
  • Former WPSL player
  • BA Political Science & Philosophy
  • Rosemount HS coach
  • former Cretin-Derham Hall B Squad Coach
Max LomAsst Juniors Director

MTA Assistant Juniors Director
Juniors Coach
ECNL Assistant Coach
ThunderBolts trainer
ThunderFoot trainer

  • Coaching at MTA since 2020
  • Coaching youth soccer since 2015
  • USSF C License
  • 2022 MTA Boys Coach of the Year
  • Asst Coach, Mpls City Futures
  • DeLaSalle HS Coach

MTA Operations Staff

Tara BlastickEvents & Financial Aid
Maureen BrickExecutive Director
Kate ZaverFields, Schedules & Managers
Jennifer Frantz
Sarah TianoRegistrar

MTA Board of Directors

Rob CaverlyPresident
Kurt IshaugTreasurer
Jeff WitteBoard member
Andres CaballeroBoard member
Jason TrucanoBoard member